IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

A little bit of heaven

We've been working on our garden all day. Glorious sunshine and warm temperatures. This is my (long) hedge of Clematis (Montana, I believe). It smells gorgeous! To me, it smells of vanilla ice cream. It is also home to at least two blackbird nests.

This shot is taken from the back of the garden, looking down towards our house (not in view). To the right, is a little bit of our raised beds (vegetables).

I've been working on our winter border (bottom left, but out of shot). I transferred six Sedum 'Autumn Joy' from the herb garden to here, and also planted out another 20 or so Verbena Bonariensis, some 20 Hellebores (Blue and red ladies, plus single and double King and Queeen varieties), plus another 20 Echinaceas (white and pink varieties). Lots more weeding, bit of pruning. Tired now.

Sorry that I have not commented much over the weekend ... been really trying to get to grips with this garden. Sooooo much to do.

P.S. We have a new family of Great Tits nesting in one of our boxes (bottom right of photo, but impossible to see). While I was working on my border, I could hear the chicks calling for food, and every so often, the male duly brought the eagerly snapped up food. We have already had Blue Tits nest in a different box this year. Really enjoy wildlife in the garden.

P.P.S. Also discovered that we have cauliflowers! Last year, one hundred or so little plug plants fell off the back of a lorry (yes, indeed) and I picked them all up off the side of the road before they got squashed to bits. We planted them out in three of our raised beds and assumed they were cabbages (they got attacked a lot by the cabbage white butterfly and caterpillars). However ... they are definitely cauliflowers ... which is just as well, as neither of us particularly like cabbages :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.