Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Backblip, and it seems it's another blipbirthday... so not a very suitable photo!!!

Climbing at Neist was decided upon as it seemed the driest option,  which it was except for underfoot. My approach shoes aren't waterproof any more, so they leaked walking along the cliff top path because the whole area was one big bog... as is large areas of Scotland, only I'd forgotten about that.

We bog trotted and leapt along and, with still some way to go, we came across this sheep. We discussed using the pelvic bones as stepping stones, but didn't think it would work, and at that point I decided that even climbing wasn't worth the bog!

I took myself off for a walk to the lighthouse, climbing up the lump of headland rock on the way, and then headed along the coast in the opposite direction, see extra, finding dry grass to sit on, eat lunch and then snooze.

Eventually I went back to where the others would have to pass me, and waited. Then I spied the three of them low down, on grass below the cliff, see extra, and eventually we met up near the carpark. They'd come back the easy way, because the guidebook had first directed us to a gully descent.... actually a steep, slippery grass bottomed stream which no-one fancied. After I bailed they'd found what seemed a reasonable descent route, only to find it was treacherous at the bottom of the ab in, necessitating a precarious traverse. They climbed two routes though. A good day, just not the one I was expecting. 

Scotland starts here.

4.64 miles
1,240 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.