My Restless Lens

By terri365

Geriatric Boy

It's been a strange and quiet day.  I dropped Aonghus at the vet and gave the Cardiologist a run down of recent events.  He doesn't think he's been having seizures but rather syncope, which is fainting in dogs.  But it can still have an impact on his overall wellbeing, especially of related to his heart.

So, he did a scan and his heart murmur is no worse and neither is the condition of the heart and his blood pressure is in normal range.  So none of these are likely to be causing the "spells".  He also took an X-ray and there is nothing sinister.  He has been sent home with a heart monitor (he is wearing a special jacket that has a pocket for the monitor) and I have to try and force an seizure by exerting him a bit - but not to go over the top!  If I manage to record the syncope, he is hoping it will show an arrythmia.

So we went for a walk after  collected him.  I took him to a small but steep hill that I know he loves but he was fine.  Tried to get him to run after a stick but he wasn't interested...  I have to go back tomorrow by 1pm and if he hasn't had a syncope by then they will put a new card in.

So, tomorrow morning I need to get him excited for his walk!  Never thought I would be wanting him to have syncope!!!

He also took bloods and his kidneys are starting to deteriorate - the levels have been fairly consistent since he was diagnosed with renal failure in November 2021 but the levels have changed quite a bit since they were taken just 2 months ago, so that's worrying and there's not much they can do about that.

But he's my wee trooper and keeps plodding on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.