Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Trying again

I'm back at home after a marathon morning of the sort my daughter-in-law does every week-day: wake Evan at 7, make his lunch, take him to school (by car) at 7:30, back at 8, wake Bella, make her lunch, take her to school (by car) at 8:30. To that, if Seth is out of town working, Cristina normally adds: walk Felix a couple of very brisk miles. Then she communicates with clients and sometimes zips over to the TV studio for a morning appearance to promote her business. She amazes me. She flew home a few hours ago and will pick them up from their schools and enjoy a belated Mother's Day celebration. 

Standing in line (in a car) to deliver the children to their schools, I am reminded of Alexis Gumb's analogy about dolphins being caught in nets: we are entangled in systems that harm the planet. We can try to chew through the nets, but it is the nets that need to be removed, and we are not the ones who cast those nets.

I've come back home to my sweet little spinet piano, which I MUCH prefer to Evan's keyboard. Two notes slipped out of tune very soon after the tuner fixed everything for $300. So she's back today at no additional charge, and she has replaced a string two strings, bless her. Discovered when I arrived home that Seth, who is in Los Angeles doing rehearsals with Guns 'N Roses prior to their next tour, sent me a wonderful Mother's Day gift: a biography of Florence Price. If this all sounds familiar, it's because I recently blipped about her.

Great new album of her work came out May 5th. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.