springlilly

By springlilly

New arrival

I looked across the field early this morning to see Sheeba's new arrival, a colt, racing around her. He definitely isn't too old, as she had not foaled on Saturday when I saw her, but she wasn't visible yesterday. I don't believe her owner had taken her into a nice comfortable stable to give birth, so she had to contend with the elements sadly.
By the time I got my camera, they had settled a bit, but she was looking very protective, naturally. I am amazed that she was taking it all in her stride, this being her 1st foal.
The colt hasn't been named yet, according to a friend who knows the owner & got to see them this evening, while Sheeba was been given some hard feed.
Update, he was born sometime after 11.00 am on Sunday, when she was fed & before 1.00 pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.