Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Thursley Common

The year seems to be speeding by, and yet I am still too early and impatient for some of my favourite annual photo safaris in search of orchids, dragonflies and any other late spring/early summer wildlife and vegetation you can think of.  Today was typical as I headed to Thursley Common, a National Nature Reserve with heathland and wetlands, and renown for dragonflies, with relatively little to be seen ... it was a good walk never the less.

 The common was subject to a devastating fire in 2020 which destroyed the boardwalks across the bogs and wetlands. These have now been restored so once again one can walk across this area, which is happily regenerating, though the "lie of the land" has altered to my mind.

I did see a few damselflies and dragonflies, mainly chasers, flitting about (extra) but my best observation had to be this common lizard. Many of the trees alongside the boardwalk were destroyed by fire and felled, with some left lying to create new habitats. The lizards, which I have never seen in this area before, are clearly taking full advantage and finding new and safer places to bask than on the boardwalk itself where previously seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.