madwill's world

By madwill

Phenomenal Fungus

I walked through the woods today - not easy getting in at the moment as there is a tree down across the entrance path …. I had to almost crawl underneath it to get through!!

Anyway, my patience was rewarded as this wonderful Dryad’s Saddle fungus has grown immensely since my last visit to it a couple of weeks ago.


Not only has it grown - it has sprouted all over the place.

The lobes can grow huge - for an idea of scale I have added an extra showing my camera bag next to one of the growths. The bag measures 45 cm / 18inches not including the handle. That was not the largest one there either! They can get up to around 60cm across.

For info - these mushrooms are edible when they are fresh. Although not poisonous, they get very tough as they get older. I’m not intending to try it though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.