WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Quiraing

I’d thought it was another sleeping seal faking the look of head, back and otter tail. Eventually, I took a photo to check. 

OTTER! 
Breakfast with an otter isn’t a bad way to start the day. It was successfully fishing just off the pier and I was in no rush to get anywhere. Rain was coming in and forecast until 2pm so I just sat and watched - willing the other vans to open their blinds.

Once that excitement had finished, I headed  towards The Trotternish peninsula.


I’ve always loved this part of Skye - just not this morning. The roads were nuts with traffic! The road to Staffin was hideously potholed. At my starting point for this afternoon’s ride (once the rain had stopped and I’d restocked with supplies), I took stock. I re-evaluated my starting point and realised if I went to Uig, the drive back would be much, much easier. I just wish I’d twigged that earlier. Single track roads with people not realising that three or four cars driving tightly together in both directions was going to cause mayhem at a two car passing space was not conducive to a pleasant ride. I was thinking about ditching the ride altogether. Life was much calmer on the other side as the cars all pulled up in the rain at the now giant car park at the top. 

I parked and laid on my prickle mat for a few minutes of relaxation. It’s my new thing and I think it really works - both relaxing of mind and of tight muscles. It arrived the day I left and I’ve used it daily since.

I say I had almost reached the point of not bothering with the ride but thankfully, not quite. I had lunch and left it ‘til 3.30 to set off, with it just spitting. What a beautiful start! And, where was everybody?  I took the coastal road first in clearing skies and was pleased of a much flatter road than yesterday’s coastal-coaster as well as just a handful of cars. 

After pondering on it for a while, I realised what we’ve often done in Skye when it’s raining - get in the car and go for a drive! It’s stopped raining - people have stopped and got out of the car! The difference now is the volume of visitors compared to our recent-ish winter trip and our May trips of two decades ago.

Anyway, I was happy! Things were working out and if the road up The Quiraing was busy, I’d take it as a photo opportunity. 

So this photo is before The Quiraing which means the road continued on up pleasantly unoccupied and there were no photo opportunities on the hill itself. I am so glad I didn’t change my mind!

I realised also at the top that there were a lot of film crew vans so it wasn’t the tourist nightmare, quite, that I thought. 

The descent was wonderful but I was surprised with three miles to go to see a curtain of water draped across the sky - and I was cycling a headwind. My lucky day! I made it back with time to pump the tyres up before putting my bike away with a little pat.

Enjoyed a feast and drove south.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.