Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Floating Earth

I know I’ve slipped into the annoying habit of posting my blips the morning after they were taken, but I’m not usually as late as this. Apologies. 

Monday is a long and largely stressful day and we’re out of the house for a full twelve hours - far longer than I’m used to at the moment. Consequently, on returning I have no energy to download my shots, let alone look at any journals. 

There are two hospital visits - more of this in Tuesday’s journal - but there’s at last a chance to visit Liverpool waterfront, something I’ve been wanting to do for the last two weeks but just haven’t had the energy. 

Of course, there is a feeling of the party being over; plenty of evidence of Eurovision festivities, but the moment’s been and gone. Still, the sky is blue, the sunlight bright, and the ‘Floating Earth’ is still drifting round the basin of the Albert Dock. Of course, in an ideal world there’d be no wind so I’d have perfect reflections for my shots, and better still, I’d be there after dark to see the globe lit up, but I’m glad I’ve made the effort to see it in these less than ideal photographic conditions. 

Then there’s the wonderful Waterfront skyline with old and new somehow working together in their own unique harmony - once more limited reflection, but the light is wonderful. 

And still perched in post-Eurovision splendour, there are two Soloveiko Songbirds ….. nightingales, Ukrain’s national bird and a symbol of song and happiness. 

I think I like the mono skyline best, but I’m using the ‘’Floating Earth’ shot as it’s something I’m unlikely to have the chance to photograph again. 

More on the ‘Floating Earth’ below. 
https://my-earth.org/installations/floating-earth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.