Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Surprise!

Whilst doing a little weeding, or hauling out ground elder as it is here, I looked up and something peachy caught my eye. On closer inspection I realised that it is one of the candelabra primroses.
I visited Harlow Carr with my sister I think three years ago at about this time. Their wonderful display of primulas by the stream delighted us both, and I decided to try some here. I ordered some seeds from the RHS seed distribution and they germinated well. I grew them on for a year, and gave some to Helen to try. I planted mine out last autumn, under my large Acer where I thought they would get some shade, as alas I have no stream!
Then of course I forgot them and the weeds sprung up….until my surprise today! There are at least six more flower spikes to come and the plants are looking good. I will try to keep them weeded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.