Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Tuesday

I had a busy day planned for today and achieved most of it.
Into town this morning to meet M and to go and explore the Christian Aid Book Sale in St Andrews & St George's church in George Street, we always used to go and haven't done so for a while. M has been a friend since 1989, we meet through Cursillo and have been part of a cell group meeting once a fortnight ever since. He's roped me into several things in the past and he and his wife are very good friends. We were all in India together that first time in 1997.
The sale didn't feel as vibrant as usual. It used to be so big. I wonder if fewer people are reading books as opposed to using electronic readers. I came away with a David Walliams book for Eilidh and a lovely old silver thimble for me. I resisted the paintings this year.
Next stop was the Cafe Royal for lunch. We had a good time chatting and catching up on family news as well as chatting about absent friends.
Back home I went for a lie down as we were heading out to Côte this evening for a dinner before I move on to soft food for a while.
We had a delicious meal with beautifully fresh local asparagus. I've never seen such enormous spears, so sweet and tender too. Popped into Ali's on our way home to pick up her peony which has been rather beaten up in the building works. I'll pop it into a pot and give it lots of water and tlc and it will be fine I'm sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.