WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Unbelievable Finale

Given I was asleep well before nine, I was raring to go well before six! I had a few possibilities for the day and, once I’d driven out of Patterdale for some coverage, I had an option ready and planned my ride. 

I had a knotted muscle in the top of my leg yesterday so wasn’t sure how a hill would feel but, between roller, ball and prickly mat, they managed two last hills. 

Top Ride No. 4, in fact! 
From Bassenthwaite, up Whinlatter, around to Buttermere and over Honister (which I haven’t ridden from this direction before). Dawdle Don’t Dwell, my new mantra, had me enjoying myself. 

The air was pretty cool today despite plenty of sunshine but the top bit of Honister felt a bit warm - probably enhanced by my heart rate!

I didn’t really want it to end but my legs are now pretty tired - so a cafe rather than more miles was the way to go today and I revelled in a stop outside in Grange with a bacon butty and a latte - I knew caffeine would help on this last few miles. In fact, they all went by a bit too quickly. 

It was a trip down memory lane with family trips, trips with friends and trips with Little Dog. The latter made me a little bit sad when I got back to the van but I know it’s trips like these that will help me when she’s gone. Little Munchkin. 

The van’s spick and span, I’m having a cup of tea and my last yoghurt and will head home shortly.

What a ridiculously fine adventure! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.