Bestwood Winding Engine

One of those days where you're made to feel mildly ashamed at not knowing the cool things you've got on your own doorstep. Beck and I went for a bike ride round Bestwood Country Park and discovered the old Colliery Winding Engine House and the rather picturesque Mill Lakes too.

And then I went to see the Handsome Family at the Musician in Leicester in the evening. I've not seen them before but they didn't disappoint, even though I dipped out before the end to avoid sitting too long into the early hours on a Leicester railway platform waiting for a Sunday train. They played 'Too Much Wine', 'The Bottomless Hole' and even a pleasingly magisterial 'Weightless Again' nice and early on as if they were aware of my predicament and sympathised accordingly (and they mixed them up artfully with some of the rather good new songs about animals off the recent 'Wilderness' album and some convivial chat from Rennie.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.