Boomerang

By Boomerang

Aspen

As a child I was fascinated by aspens. I had never seen one but my grandfather told me how special they were because their leaves would flutter or tremble even when there wasn’t a breeze to move them. Many years later, several aspen grow along the road to our home and our neighbours have this specimen growing in their field. While walking through the field I noticed lots of aspen saplings growing around the main tree. They are the short brown leafy growths scattered amongst the grass. These will not have grown from seeds but from root suckers spreading out from the main tree.
Continuing the tree theme, I came across the young larch cones that I had blipped in 20th April. They are now getting all grown up. The embryonic cones that reminded me of raspberries a month ago are now “teenagers”. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.