Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Box Turtle

These are now apparently more correctly referred to as "Woodland Box Turtle" - in fact when I was still at The Wildlife Center, they had started calling them "woodland turtle." But if you google "woodland turtle" you get "wood turtle" which is a different thing. I have always known them as "box turtle." 

In any case - this is the first one we've seen this year. It was at the edge of a lawn on Chapel Spring Lane - about to step into the road. So we moved it across the road. Roxxy was sniffing at it, so it's head is sucked in. You can just barely see its nose (beak) if you sort of use your imagination. Top of the photo is head, bottom is tail. You can also see its left rear foot sticking out a bit.

I took the dogs to the vet for their annual check-ups today, and on the way there saw a rather large snapping turtle just about out of the road. The woman ahead of me slowed way down, and then turned around at the next opportunity, so I thought "You go girl! I don't want to be late to the vet's office, so I'm going to let you deal with it!" I presume she somehow shooed it more off the road than it already was. I didn't notice it on the way home, so... And the dogs are fine. Old, and in Bugsy's case going blind and deaf, but fine. Bugs is 13, Roxxy is 9.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.