Marking Time

By Libra

Cockerels and "goblin mode"

Photo:
Re-cycled sculpture
This cockerel, made from tin cans, is an African sculpture in the garden.
I like it because it does not involve expensive materials, its using discarded material around them, yet it exudes  a liveliness missing from so much of Western sculpture. Sometimes I think you need a degree in art history to know where some contemporary art is coming from.
 
On my annual visit to the podiatrist this afternoon I got talking to the young woman about life after Covid and how it has changed people.
 
Like our hairdresser, we confide details about our lives, which often their nearest and dearest don’t know. 
 
So it was today and we ended up discussing the goblin syndrome.
 
 Basically, during lockdown we adapted to living within the confines of our homes and surrounding area. With no outside pressures some of us “went a bit feral” and have liked it a bit too much that we are reluctant to come out of it. (I kid you not).
Oxford University Press have chosen goblin mode as the new word of the year (2022) based on public opinion.
 

Have you been tempted to slip into goblin mode behaviour?  I know I have- I've lived in joggers and t-shirts for the past couple of years.
What are the symptoms?
 check it out

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.