Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Across 24 Nights

Annemarie and I went to Groningen, to the cinema Pathé, to see the concert registration of Eric Claptons '24 Nights' from way back in 1990 and 1991. This film had his world premiere tonight and would be shown only once.

Of course I knew the music already, but with some tracks I'd never seen the video footage. While watching it, I went back in time 30 years and it made me realize that really has been a long long time. Lots of things have happened since then.
Seeing him play at the age of 45/46. Amazing. Back then I always saw him as an older person. I was 20 then. And now he's 78, and I am......  older then he was then.
How time flies!!

All those years ago, these concerts in the Royal Albert Hall, actually triggered me to go see him live myself. I'd never been to one of his concerts then. But shortly after that that all changed. By now I don't know to how may concerts I've been. Over 30 I think. My first concert was in Maastricht (MECC), then several times in Rotterdam, a few times in Gent (Belgium), Cologne (Germany), Heerenveen (Frisia), The Hague, (North Sea Jazz), Nijmegen and lots and lots of concerts in London (Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park). And almost every time, standing (occasionally sitting) front row.
I remember that his supporting act, Bonnie Raitt (can't remember the year, I think 2003 in Ahoy Rotterdam) came towards me and the friends I was with, leaned forward and asked "Are you guys here already again?? That's great guys! This one's is for you!!!" And she started playing "The Fundamental Things".

Those days are gone now, although Annemarie and I agreed that we'd go to London again when Clapton will be playing the RAH once again. Hope he will! Fingers crossed for 2024!  A handshake and a maybe a chitchat still is on my wishlist.

Great music!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.