Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Wild arnica

A food shop in the morning. I spent enough I got a free hanging basket with flowers in it. Can't complain at that. Then the managers wife came over for a cup of tea and we had a walk in an area I'd seen a lot of foragable and medicinal plants just below our house. We enjoyed identifying and it was great to have someone with Canadian plant knowledge. We've decided its such a gold mine for foraging that we will electric fence it off from the cattle this summer. As we were out I got a phone call from husband he's wanting to move cattle tomorrow so I'd need to get my ecological survey done on the field. So once we were finished I grabbed lunch and headed to the ranch to get the supplies together and start surveying.

For those interested I'm creating a triangle transect that I'm throwing a weighted dart into over my shoulder 100 times recording the soil cover, plants, animals, etc then creating percentages from that. In this field I intend to do 3 transects in different areas. Just one done today. Took a bit to get into the rhythm of it. Anyway all the fields are getting this comprehensive survey done then I will be surveying pre and post cattle moves throughout the summer but this will be with a more basic survey a straight line transect with 5 1x1m areas surveyed which will be less time consuming. At least this is the plan. We are figuring it out as we go.

"The plants have enough spirit to transform our limited vision." - Rosemary Gladstar

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.