Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

Top Gear

Top Gear

It was a day of messing around with stuff. First furniture, sanding and painting. Then the saga of the 'Billy bookcase'. Finally, the story of the bikes and the gears. This was the case of the rogue Shimano Derailleur gears on Lounardo's bike. They kept jumping.

Google, followed by YouTube provided the inspiration to perform emergency bike maintenance. I was quite pleased with myself. There were videos from all over the world, showing men in little workshops with bikes, talking you through the vagaries of Shimano type gears and assorted tools. I followed suit.

After a while, I discovered that I had been doing everything upside down, as my bike was turned upside. The videos were all the other way around! So all the screws were reversed. Obvious really - just put it down to experience :)

After getting the limits right, I then adjusted the increments. All fine. The gears still jumped !! I eventually discovered that this was due to one link of the chain having seized up. Lots of degunking and degreasing and regreasing later, it seems to work.

Future career beckons methinks.

Bet Lounardo doesn't even notice !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.