Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

The Things You Find...

...in the bottom of the vegetable bin--which is where our larder is after almost a month on holiday. While cleaning and doing laundry, I ventured into the bin in an effort to find something to eat tonight. All I found was this onion lurking under some greenish potatoes, so I put it on the windowsill while I pondered the situation. I can't figure out anything enticing to do with a sprouted onion, some stale Cheerios and a container of vanilla yogurt, but it appears that OilMan has had a better idea....

It is a gloomy day--clouds, a little rain, a house in dire need of vacuuming, and a wireless communication system that isn't communicating. While I tackled the dog hair with the vacuum, OilMan and our son- in-law, Jim, bought a new set of phones and a wireless "booster" in an effort to improve things on the wireless front. Mysterious things seem to be happening--I find myself talking to the wall after a call is dropped without warning. Without giving a reason, the laptop stubbornly refuses to go online. Personal communications don't seem to be going too well either--that might take a bit more than a booster. Outside, OilMan is struggling with an irrigation leak that is running down the neighbors' driveway, and sprinklers that refuse to go on.

The guest room is empty, the banter has vanished on the last BA flight and the dog needs a bath. Vacations are great. It's not so great when they end....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.