wrperry

By wrperry

Turf Battle

I had seen a red morph Eastern Screech Owl in our duck/owl nest box during the winter, sheltering from the extreme cold.  Since then, there has been no sign of it until yesterday.  To my surprise it was sleeping with its head in the entry hole. Of course my first thought was, are there owlets??  Further questions arose when a Great Crested Flycatcher circled the box, at one point flying right up to the hole (extra).  They nest in cavities, so perhaps the owl was intruding on its property?  On the other hand, I had seen no sign of a flycatcher in the area, and it's the first one I've spotted at all on the Cape.  The flycatcher persisted, sitting on top of the box when I left the house to meet my sister for coffee.  Since I've returned home, the owl has been taking no chances and has spent the entire time with its face at the entrance, as in this blip.  I would say with a face like that, it has won this particular turf war.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.