Dicentra spectabilis Alba

B is for Bleeding Hearts. Except that these are white ones; oh well. Like the alliums, also growing in the garden.

I saw Dr Persey this evening and he had the results of the MRI. I have a torn gluteus minimus. I don’t know how I did it but apparently it can just occur from normal wear and tear.

I’m pleased to finally have a diagnosis which we can now act on. Or rather not act on, as mostly the remedy is rest, so it can heal. I’m to have a steroid injection into it under ultra sound, then total rest for two weeks. After that I can start physio exercises to strengthen the muscles around it, but still not walk beyond what is necessary, for 6 weeks. I will be able to do gentle yoga and possibly, maybe cycling as it uses a different muscle group. (Edit: Dr Lotse who did the injection said no cycling; nothing that involves lifting the leg up and down). Failing that I’ll swim using upper body only. Where there’s a will, as they say. After the 8 weeks, hopefully I’ll be able to start a recovery fitness programme so perhaps I’ll be climbing mountains again in September? We will see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.