CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

A Time of Remembrance

Memorial Day in the United States is when we honor soldiers who have fallen in defense of our nation, and those brave men and women who have given the ultimate sacrifice to ensure freedom and prosperity for our Nation. For me it was a day to honor the only living WWII Veteran in my life, my Dad. My Dad served in the U.S. Army during WWII under General Patton Third Army. He was in the 94th Medical Gas Treatment Battalion from Utah Beach to the end of the war in Berlin.

For most people, it means a three day weekend, cookouts, outings to the beach or park. I believe that is a wonderful way to celebrate, because this way of life is a luxury that came at a cost. Hopefully somehow, someway, everyone took the time to pause and Remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.