Number147

By Number147

Saturday

Hetty and I happened upon Morris dancers practising their moves when we walked along the Caen Hill flight this morning. They stopped for a chat. Apparently from the Midlands and East coast of England and in town to perform with the Devizes Morris men outside The White Bear this afternoon. 

I've a little story... In the early 1980s, I went to see a band at Moles Club in Bath. (Something I often did in those days.) After their set, I caught the eye of their bass player and he offered to buy me a drink. He was very polite and seemed quite shy. I was with my boyfriend who was the keyboard player in another band. I felt very awkward so declined. That band was The Smiths and the bass player was Andy Rouke.

Andy died yesterday.  He was 59, three years younger than I am now.   The Smiths drummer was talking about him on the BBC this morning and said he lit up a room. To me, always that shy young man. He must have only been about 20 when I met him.

I never particularly enjoyed The Smiths. I found Morrissey and his bunch of flowers very irritating! However, I do now appreciate their music.

Another lovely day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.