Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Basket weaver

I went down to the market this morning to get the fish. I blipped the baskets in the market recently. This is the man who sits sometimes displaying his skills. He always wears the same basket hat. We had a long chat about disappearing crafts and how it is increasingly difficult to make a living using traditional skills. I managed to fit in some tennis before a shower made the court slippy and so we had to stop. That was probably a good thing as I was not playing well and was being easily beaten.  A friend showed me a lithograph he had picked up at a charity shop. We discovered that the original is in a Swiss museum and his print is certainly old judging by the frame, probably 19th century. He did well as he only paid €3 for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.