Robin at large

By Robin

The Day After

Back to Aberdeen in the early hours of the morning. I can safely say that was the worst train journey I have ever had. I got to Edinburgh seven hours late, so comfortably missed my 12 minute connection. I was still seven hours late when I got to Aberdeen shortly after midnight. A deserted station and not a taxi in sight. I was lucky as one did come in shortly after I arrived.

When the train arrived at Carlisle we were told it was going to terminate there instead of continuing on to Edinburgh. After several hours standing on the platform another Edinburgh service arrived. Along with hundreds of others, with huge relief we got on to the train. There was then an announcement saying the train was going no further, and everybody was to get off the train. This announcement was met with near incredulity. Was it a hoax? Well no.

There was then a rumour going around the platform that all services to Edinburgh had been cancelled, and all Edinburgh passengers were to go to Glasgow instead. This was confirmed to me when I went to the information office.

It turned out this was true as far as Avanti West Coast was concerned, and most Edinburgh passengers headed off to Glasgow. I and some others heard there was a Trans Pennine service going to Edinburgh. We managed to squeeze onto this grossly overcrowded train. We had to stand all the way, or as some did, sit on the floor.

My day today started a little later than usual. The day was largely overcast. The tulips at Queen’s Cross make a fine display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.