Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Eastern Rat Snake

Sorry if the photo freaks anyone out.

Formally known as Black Rat Snake. Found about to attempt to cross Chapel Spring Lane this morning. We decided we needed to shift him across before some yahoo in a pick-up truck came along and killed him. So first I tried to just make him go by touching his tale (with a stick) but that make him turn,  and sort of coil up and look at me. Which is when this photo was taken. Eventually I managed to sort of scoop him and move him by degrees (with the stick) and last seen he was going up the bank on the other side of the road and into the woods. Mission accomplished.

These snakes are harmless. Well - they'll bite you and it will hurt - but not venomous. I love snakes. If I'd had leather gloves I would have just picked him up. Note to self... carry leather gloves on walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.