JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Colour Field?

I'm still trying to catch up with myself - but Thursday's abstract challenge was "painterly", and as the fields here are very colourful at present, I thought I'd try using ICM to create something along the lines of a colour field painting, loosely inspired by Helen Frankenthaler (who liked the vivid greens which surround me here at this time of year). The bright sun made the landscape a difficult subject for ICM - I don't have a filter to help me reduce the shutter speed - so instead I tried adjusting the focus to create more blur and pointing the camera at some of the shady parts of the garden. I was not optimistic, but with some tweaking - just contrast, warmth and saturation, nothing fancy - the results were more fun than I expected. The main photo is more Sol LeWitt than Helen Frankenthaler; I've collaged a few more as an extra, though they look more lurid when grouped together. 

I had a quietly indulgent day, as it was my birthday. The nicest bits were taking my coffee to the balcony with the Hockney Yorkshire Sketch Book J had bought for me; eating the delicious lunch P cooked; baking lemon elderflower drizzle cake (an easy and delicious Nigella recipe), then eating it with J and her PA; and our Thursday movie night spent delighting in an old favourite, Cinema Paradiso, accompanied by pizza.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.