Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Safe to move?

As anyone reading this from England may have noticed, we had a dreich sort of grey day today while you basked in sunshine, and now - again, as the keen observer of the weather map on the news will have seen - it's raining here, though not as heavily as it did at dinnertime...

Anyway, it was into the grey morning that Himself and I hurtled ourselves, running late at ten o'clock to get to the church coffee morning where we were in our customary job of scullions - or more prosaically, dish-washers/driers. (It was pointed out that the hall we were borrowing had a dishwasher, but it's not really practical for a rapid turnover, is it?) Anyway, Himself switched on the car, put it into reverse, and we stared in horror at the black shadow menacing our rear view of the lane. Was it indeed safe to move? I got out to inspect the horror and found a daddy-long-legs had taken up position right over our rear view camera - as you can see in the second picture. It was still there at lunchtime.

The coffee morning was noisy, full of chat, and totally exhausting - at least, standing at a sink for the best part of three hours was. I did make the odd foray to talk to people I'd not seen for ages, but on the whole once the dishes started coming we were kept busy. Glad I had my Marigolds...

The rest of the day involved a late lunch, a sleep over the paper, Himself going off to practise the organ, and a walk in the late afternoon round the chilly West Bay (it had grown windy) and back round the back of the town via the church, just for the extra loop of hill, where I heard a fabulous blackbird singing so loudly that I could only just make up the cuckoo up the glen.

And after that? I learned that Spartans (it's a football club; my grandsons play there) did well - they won a vital match that (I think) means they'll play in the league next season and I became exasperated (again) at what passes for news these days. Grumpy here, off to bed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.