Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Book cull

       I started yesterday and found a few books that I had been looking for and today I sorted some more and found the book I was looking and now have a box of books to sell or give away (there will be more). I didn't get so bogged down as I usually do and  quite coldly got rid of some books I know I will never read and a few that I know I will not read again (mostly novels). The keepers are those I've already read more than once; those to which I am emotionally attached ( old paperbacks I acquired in my youth mostly and refer to when a memory surfaces out of the blue). The keepers are reference books, non-fiction, (history, science, music, philosophy, photography etc); plays and poetry; and, of course, all the Folio editions. 

       I'm not exactly a 'completest' but I have several collections of magazines: BBC Music; Dulcimer Players News, which will shortly no longer publish a paper edition, a complete set of GRANTA and continuing, I have a box of Ringing World  journals covering several years and a few Countryman magazines from when it was still published in Burford, Oxon.

       It's easier this time as many books and papers were in boxes from previous attempts to tidy up and because I found what I was looking for and ran out of steam didn't finish . . . I now have a cunning plan to get books of similar subjects together and be ruthless with what has to go.

      Played music to sight reading hymn tunes I didn't know and the practising with D. I feel much better now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.