Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Bucolic

Dithered about what picture to use as I had a lovely outdoorsy sort of day but somehow this captures something of the quiet relaxation I felt.
It was for the most part a beautiful warm and sunny day although the clouds began to build late in the afternoon. I started by taking Paisley for a walk up a lane towards Marchmont House, revelling in the many hares I saw resting then dashing about in the fields, the blossom, the birdsong and the sunshine. We only saw one dog the whole time so it was very relaxed and easy going. Found myself thinking a lot about HB who died so tragically recently and how familiar this lane would have been to him.
Left Paisley to have a bit of a rest and set off down to St Boswell’s, stopping en route to climb up to Hume castle, a folly built on the remains of an old keep. Stunning views over such beautiful countryside, and to think I never really knew what was here. A delight to explore.
St Boswell’s was looking its best in the sunshine, with flower filled gardens and lots of bunting around (extra). I enjoyed a very pleasant hour in the bookshop cafe with a scone, coffee and the Skye McAlpine latest cookbook to browse…bliss!
After a wander around the village I nipped into Kelso to do some food shopping, stopping to walk along the river and get a good view of Floors castle…such an impressive pile! Lovely to feel I had all the time in the world to do whatever I fancied.
Home for a late sandwich lunch then Paisley helped me do some planting out of raspberries and rhododendrons that A&N hadn't had time to do given all their greenhouse and shed building. Opened the bifold doors and sat in a comfy chair soaking up the birdsong, sun and emotional roars and sighs coming from the crowd at the football field just across the river. Read some more of The Outrun and drank tea….
Made some chocolate chip cookies from the recipe book I’d read at the cafe then fed Paisley and settled down to supper of salad and the cheeses I’d bought at the St Boswell’s deli. Lovely relaxing and solitary day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.