One click at a time

By KeithKnight

May Challenge - Patriotic

Day 27 of DDW's May daily challenge - Patriotic

The weather is certainly all messed up. This is the second consecutive bank holiday where there has been rain before it, rain forecast after it and good weather for the holiday itself. Totally the reverse of normal.

A little research showed me that some of the sculptures that I had used for my proposed ARPS panel, which had been outside the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge, were now outside Salisbury Cathedral, where there is currently an exhibition of Helaine Blumenfeld's work under the title "Messenger of the Spirit". As 2 of thee images that it had been suggested could improve the variety in the panel by having more sense of depth by having less depth of field were now in Salisbury, and the weather was looking good I decided that a day trip there was called for.

I had a very good trip there, parked in the park and ride and was at the cathedral about the time that I had expected. It was extremely windy, and at one point my tripod started to tip over from one particularly strong gust. That meant working with higher ISOs to keep the shutter speed down, although noise shouldn't be a problem, as I didn't have to wind it up too far.

So a successful day for that, and I have now doubled the number of shots on the D800, but finding something for Patriotic was harder. I was looking for something "Red, White and Blue", the colours of the flags of quite a number of countries. In the end I compromised on some pennants that were flying around the cathedral, there were several colours including red and blue, but no white ones, but they were strung together on white tape. I hope I got the sense of how windy it was with the flags - you can see part of the tree has no movement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.