Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Mint

It’s been a while since I’ve seen one a these Mint Moths. I’d forgotten how small they are, but their intense and distinctive colour still draws the eye. This one was in the community garden, appropriately near the mint.

Later, 15yo and I walked down to the river and the nature reserve. There were a few damselflies about, including Large Red and one of the blues. The butterfly highlight was my first Red Admiral of the year, along with Orange-tip, Peacock, Holly Blue, Speckled Wood and Small White.

Then home to follow the afternoon’s crucial football. Sadly Bradford City did not negotiate the second leg of their play-off semi-final against Carlisle United, so there will be no trip to Wembley for me next weekend. Everton picked up a point thanks to a very late equaliser at Wolves, but I have a feeling that come next weekend that will not be enough for us. It looks like it will be between us and Leeds for the last safe place, although Leicester may yet pass us both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.