wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Gorgeous sunny weather. Perfect for sitting on a bench with a book & a beer (well a Shandy) to watch the cricket. Daughter had packed a delicious  picnic so that we could watch Dan's team (Allendale) play away at Corbridge. Its a lovely cricket field located near the train station. We had a break at one point to go and walk around the village and visit the bookshop, located in an old chapel, and the gift shop, located in a blacksmiths forge! I only know this because the rather uppity shopkeeper really got my back up by practically telling me off because I referred to the building as an old cottage. She corrected me sharply saying it was a blacksmith's forge and I said "well who knew?"...to which she bolshily replied "everyone knows!". I replied well clearly not, as I didn't! Grrrrrrrr was there any need for such an abrupt interaction. Lol, daughter and I could only laugh and be slightly bewildered by the exchange and were determined not to let this spoil our nice day and purchases! 

The book btw is "everything you need to know about the menopause" by Kate Muir. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.