FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

Rainy visit to Six Flags

A friend I see only about once a year was going to be at Six Flags Great Adventure, so I said I'd join him. This was some day, friends.

The park is a four-hour drive away. Jill and I like to stop for lunch at a cheese steak place in Philadelphia. I got there and it was closed because its payment system was down. So I decided to just go to the park and eat there.

After a rainy hourlong drive, I got to the parking booth and was told to just go in because the park was closing in an hour because of rain. I didn't know if I had my current season pass or if I needed to process it at Six Flags America. The pass I had didn't scan at the entrance, so I went to guest services. They scanned the bar code on my phone and said it could only be processed at Six Flags America, the Six Flags park closest to me. They gave me a voucher to enter the park.

I met with my friend, who was also with an acquaintance Jill and I met at a park before we started dating. She had slipped and hit her head earlier, so she wasn't riding anymore today. We rode Nitro (where I said hi to another friend who is a supervisor on the ride) and Jersey Devil. Then the park closed! Bah!

I fueled up at a nearby Wawa and got on the road to go home. But there was a crash at a bad intersection, and I was stuck in traffic for 40 minutes. I had planned to go to Dorney Park, but that was now canceled. Instead, I just drove the four hours home. At least the dogs were happy to see me.

I couldn't help but think how much easier this day could have been if this country had a functional rail system like in Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.