CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Male Great Spotted Woodpecker on the old rhus tree

I saw the woody from my study once again this morning. It seems to be enjoying feeding from the sunflower feeder several times every day.

I managed to go downstairs and get my camera lens changed before it moved off the sunflower feeder. It was only then that I realised that it seemed to be asleep as it was perched and very still whilst gripping the wire mesh of the feeder.

I slid the patio doors open and it still didn't move. I managed to edge outside and that disturbed irt enough to fly a few yards down the garden on to the old rhus tree. It alighted on the trunk and then hopped in several stages up towards the top of one of the old dead branches.

I did catch a couple of frames of it in flight once it decided to heads for thew ash tree at the bottom of the garden, but they weren't sharp enough to show you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.