ForthPorts

By ForthPorts

What a day!

Cut grass, weed front and back, paint the eves, point the gable end, service the land rover, pressure wash the moss off the garage roof and wood stain the front fence.

All of which didn't get done. Perhaps tomorrow.

However our first tomatoes of the season have appeared! They are tiny (smaller than a pea), early days. Now is that Thousand Island dressing still in date?

In other news - 

In Tesco, a wee old lady ahead of me at the check out, her purchases on the belt, she saw I had only one item and wanted me to go ahead of her. I told her I was in no hurry and to go on. Then she couldn't find her debit card, she became quite distressed at having to put her stuff back. Every pocket was emptied, her bag tipped out. In a light headed fit of unusual altruism I signalled to the assistant to put her stuff through and I paid for it! I know why I did it, for the past five or six weeks I have had chronic joint pain when walking - and today, absolutely fine, had to give something back.

Later we visited a local farm shop come café for a cuppa (Mannerstons). I went to order and was greeted by someone who cheerily greeted me. I kind of blanked her, I was phased, I knew I knew her well but could I place her. 15 minutes of trying to get the gears to turn eventually worked. I remembered. We walk often along the beach with the dog Murdo and her wee dog Harry. Just seeing her out of context and unable to place her was quite unsettling.

Went back in to apologise, she came out to see Murdo and he recognised her instantly. All over her. All good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.