A New Day

By ANewDay

Disaster!!

In March, I set up a bird box ( see here) in the hope that some little bird might use it. In spite of repeated checks, I was never aware of anything in the box.

After the high winds of the past few days, I noticed the box had been dislodged from the tree where I had placed it and was lying upside down on the ground. Imagine my distress when I opened it and discovered six tiny eggs and a beautifully constructed nest! Some of the eggs were smashed while others were intact, but the poor female obviously took fright and has not been back to the nest.

I'm not sure if it was the nest of a wren or blue tit, but feel very saddened that I'll not get to see the babies. All my fault for not securing it better to the tree! I'll know better next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.