Wreck On The Highway (Again!)

I blipped a very similar picture to this on 9th December, after mum had driven into the back of someone. The car was repaired by her insurers and - despite pleas from family and neighbours - she continued driving.
Each time we visited I noticed more and more scrapes on the car, usually from catching the corners on the garage wall. I went down to Chester today, as I’d been tasked with buying her a replacement microwave, and I noticed the car now looked like this. Seems she’d really caught the wall of the garage and basically peeled half the front end off.
Enough is enough. I told her that her driving days were over, I would dispose of the car and she would not be getting another one because no one in the family would assist her in such an acquisition. Surprisingly, she accepted this quite meekly. I think she has finally accepted her eyesight is not good enough and not are her reflexes.
I will return next week and take the car away. Hopefully “We Buy Any Car” will live up to their claim and take it off our hands. I don’t care if they only give her 50p for it, as long as it’s gone. If they don’t want it then it’s going to be a case of sticking it back together as much as possible with gaffer tape and driving it to the body shop I use in Kendal to see if they can repair it. Then I’ll have to hope I can sell it for more than the cost of the repairs.
On the plus side, the new microwave went down well, even though she’s not really sure how to use it. I drew arrows in the instruction book and left step by step written instructions so I’m hoping she’ll be able to pick it up without too much difficulty - I got the simplest one I could find so there is no alternative if she can’t work it out.
And the day wasn’t entirely wasted from our point of view - the trip was uneventful both ways, with no hold ups, and we called into IKEA to have their famous meatballs for lunch. Even picked up a new doormat on the way out, which has considerably improved the appearance of the kitchen.
On the whole, a positive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.