Cailleach

By Cailleach

Mews-ings.....

I was doing a bit of detective work today, and I believe that this is the mews where Yorkshire-born, Edinburgh-based sleuth Jackson Brodie lives. (In the wonderful Case Histories, Sunday nights, BBC1.)

The series is based on the books by Kate Atkinson, who writes sentences that make you cry with laughter one moment, and gasp in shock the next. Like Alexander McCall Smith, she has a deceptively easy prose style....and a wicked sense of humour.

As I'm sure I've told you before (and won't stop telling you, because it makes me so damned happy every time I think of it), Sandy McCall Smith mentioned the shop Doris and I used to own, in two or three of his Scotland Street novels. Although the shop has long since gone, for me it lives on whilst Sandy's books are still in print. And with writing as perfect as his, I suspect that'll be for a long, long time to come....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.