Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

From memory lane

My dad and my eldest son, my hiker son on a windy summer's day in 1984.

Today went odd as I tried to contact our railway company via the telephone, what wasn't easily done... when my phonecall was answered and I remained in waiting, the line was dropped by them after some 15 minutes of waiting; that happened twice! A following time I was told by the voice that it's a robot! My question wasn't recognized and I was forwarded to a person; that person could not help me and told me to try a new number... New number?! It's the same number I'm calling over and over again! "Sorry, can't help you" was the answer I got.

Trying to reach them again in the afternoon my call was answered by a person who tried to help me and finally urged me to contact them via their chatbox! I'd been on the phone for over two hours! Unfortunately that chatbox was neither helpful. 

All in all more than 5 hours busy with putting my question forward to that company and no answer gotten! 
A question what's not filed in their formats and thus not answered Prior to this I'd checked my registrations with them on internet of course and did not find what I needed. Crazy how we are reduced to fit their formats and otherwise get lost! 

It all started with their mail to me that the annual payment of my rail card had failed; so I sent that payment online personally. This morning I again received an email from them that my payment still has to be done... it turned out that they've changed their bank account! But HOW to help me by transferring that payment from their one account to their other is apparently an impossible question. 

Surely when I took this photo, my dad and I had never imagined that talking to a robot on the phone would become reality! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.