Keith B

By keibr

Oh dear - will it all go back together?

Jan had been reading on the camper van forums how easy it is to break into these vehicles, then she came across a cheap, easy to install, extra plate that made it much harder to open the van with a screwdriver. So we bought the plates.
Now I realise "Easy to install" is a subjective description but I'm afraid I disagree with whoever wrote that. Admittedly no special tools are needed and the instructions are excellent but it took a large part of the day and involved removing, and then replacing, a lot of bits and pieces.
I did however, enjoy it, mostly. At one point in my youth I spent a fair bit of time deep inside the engines of old cars and motorcycles with various friends. I quite enjoyed it, even if it was forced upon us by the need for transport and a lack of money. There is an order required to successfully dismantle and reassemble a motor and I enjoyed that order.
I'm not going anywhere near the engine of our campervan but I still enjoy the combination of physical and intellectual work required on jobs like this door. And I enjoy knowing what's inside that door, where the cables run, how the handle works and so on.
So I take my hat off to the entrepeneur who sold us the plates and assured us it was "easy to install" because if he'd told us the truth I'd never have had the fun day I had today.
PS The extra shows the reconstructed door, all working perfectly and looking just like it always does, apart from a bit of extreme cleanness because in those younger days I learned to clean up everything I could clean up while it was all in pieces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.