Living my dream

By Mima

Horny hairy company

This gorgeous beast was in the paddock next to me as I gardened at G’s this morning. I think it’s a bull, but couldn’t actually see much under all the thick fur, so I’ll happily stand corrected if somebody can differentiate between Highland cows and bulls. He was fascinated by my presence and approached the fence until I move towards him, when he backed off.

Once home from G’s and after a bowl of soup for lunch I was overcome with sleepiness, so I snuggled down on the guest bed and had a wonderful 1.5 hour snooze. Bean joined me intermittently: when she needed a break from sun-baking.

The guest bed is extraordinarily comfortable and as I lay there, drifting off, I wondered why I don’t sleep on it every night? Why don’t I have it in my bedroom cabin? At some point about 10 years ago I decided I preferred sleeping in the other bed in the house I lived in. And I’ve done so ever since. 

So after I woke up I did some measuring and worked out that the queen size guest bed will fit into my new cabin, in place of the current double bed there. It will need to be placed against a different wall because the cabin is narrow, and I’ll need to move the wardrobe a few centimetres, but it’ll fit nicely.

That’ll be a project one day. All my spare paintings are stored under my bed, so it’s not simply a case of deconstructing and reconstructing two beds. I will inevitably get lost in the paintings once I start to shift them…and that will lead to hanging some of them and taking down some others which have been on the walls for a few years.

Talking about getting lost in pictures, I’ve been looking at family photos this afternoon. My s-i-l is compiling a photo album to give to #3 brother to help stimulate conversation with his carers and has asked me to look for any that I think he’d like. I had a happy couple of hours looking at photos and feeling remarkable reconnected with my family. I’ve found a couple of dozen which I hope will be useful.

It’s been a different day.

By the way, I am hopelessly behind with looking at journals at the moment. My apologies and I’ll catch up in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.