Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Moortop Garage, Mirfield

WEDNESDAY

I drove back to God's own county and the sun shone all day.

First stop was Huddersfield town centre to look at how the redevelopment is coming on.

A drive to Honley Village, near Holmfirth for a spot of lunch and an appointment with my audiologist. 

Then over to Heckmondwike (where I went to grammar school) for a podiatry appointment at my cousin's daughter's practice, followed by a meet up at Costa with a lifelong friend who was best man at my wedding some 29 years ago.

Then over to the Spire Hospital at Roundhay, Leeds for an early evening appointment with my cardiologist. He was happy with my progress since the ablation on 23 March and I can now stop taking all the anti-arrhythmic medication and see how things go. I will have a review meeting in March 2024. 

A fifteen mile journey to Liversedge Cemetery at 7:00 pm for some quiet thoughts and to say a prayer for my Mum who passed away eighteen years ago this week.

Then over to Tesco's in Brighouse for some petrol (at £1.34 p per litre). The cheapest petrol near to our new home in Wales is £1.46!

Finally, a drive over the moors to join the M62 motorway at Windy Hill (junction 22) and a clear run home via the M60, M56 and A55. 

Home in time for supper.

The main blip is Teale's Garage at Mirfield Moor Top.  The garage itself seems to be stuck in a time warp. I think the petrol pumps are still the same ones as when my Dad had an account there back in the 1960s and 70s. Sadly it's no longer surrounded by moorland, but by industrial warehouses and houses.

The collage in the extra shows some of the places I visited today. Also, an extra of the Windy Hill Transmitter which is close to M62 junction 22 and on the boundary between Lancashire and Yorkshire. At this point the M62 is the highest motorway in the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.