Greenstead

By Greenstead

Abbot Hall Art Gallery in Kendal

Abbot Hall art gallery had been shut  since just before Covid for some major work. I had noticed that it had just reopened so as I was meeting friend R in Kendal, I suggested a visit. The first exhibition, ‘What is it that will last’ by Julie Brook has taken over the space. It’s a mixture of paintings, photos and video, plus some of the pre existing gallery stock selected by the artist. Sadly you have to find the documentary film that explains the artist’s intention, which is on the first floor. Having found that, the exhibition made sense. They have a few teething problems, that R and I gave them some suggestions on, including how they deal with the visually impaired, but overall, it was an interesting visit. A quick lunch and I was off back to Sedbergh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.