Still Rockin'

By RockArea

The Holwell Hawthorn

I met up with my pal John this afternoon for some photography and a meal. We parked at Emsworthy on Dartmoor and walked down to Emsworthy Mire where the red barn and the Bluebells are. I photograph them most years and each year lately I've said they're even better this year. We then moved on to Holwell Lawn and I was pleased to see that the little hawthorn was in bloom. The first time I came here it was in bloom and that was 14/15 years ago. I've not seen it in bloom since. In the background you can see Haytor Rocks just above that lovely wall on the left of the tree. We had an enjoyable supper at the Old Inn in Widecombe in the Moor and afterwards went up to Emsworthy rocks for some nice late light. Sunset didn't really develop with an almost cloudless sky. A lovely afternoon/evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.