... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Arches Within An Arched Arch Between Arches

There is something that I find almost hypnotic about the detail in the architecture of the NHM. It makes me think of fractals: the more you "zoom" in, the more detail there is, and the details are often repetitions of larger structures... Well, it isn't a wonderful description, but there is definitely something fractal-esque about the use of arched motifs to adorn larger arches, and the way that smaller arches are nestled between larger arches...

This is the view from the middle of the stairs between the first and second floors, looking up at the second floor gallery. I've taken a similar picture before, but looking in the opposite direction (towards the Old General Herbarium). I think it looks better for the more wideangle perspective...

I've just made a very exciting plan for Sunday; I won't reveal anything (mwa ha ha) except that I'm going to be visiting a fascinating piece of architecture, and getting there in an unusual way. I suspect that I'll have to put up a blip and a blipfolio picture that day, and I won't be taking my proper camera (for reasons that may perhaps become clear). I don't know why I'm being so cryptic, but there you are...

I almost blipped a candid portrait today, but realised (on closer examination) that it was slightly out of focus (too out of focus, or not out of focus enough, depending on how you look at it...). I still think it was a step, and I'll try again soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.