CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Horses running on Minchinhampton Common

I stopped on my way home from Nailsworth to look for skylarks on Minchinhampton Common. At one point I suddenly saw a horse being lead on a lead by its owner and I wondered whether it was one of the herd of horses which a local person owns and grazes using the Commoner's Rights.

Then the head of the horses appeared over one of the banked ditches, closely followed by the herd. The lead horse accelerated and the herd followed racing across the ground towards their owner and a young foal on a lead. In the back ground a green keeper can be seen mowing the grass on one of the golf course holes.

I loved the wild feeling evoked by their manes in the wind. The horses can wander here all summer long with no bridles or saddles to restrict them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.