MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

"Hundred-weight Feast"

One hundred days! One hundred-weight. Perfectly balanced.

How weird to revisit 16 oz. make 1 lb., 14 lb. make 1 stone, 2 stones make 1 quarter, 4 quarters make 1 cwt. (hundred weight) of 112 lb., 20 cwt. make 1 ton of 224 lb.

I joined this site so that I could enter the Velux Lovers Of Light competition. Shooting a photo a day is nothing new to me.

The lifestyle guru in my paper suggested one New Year, about six years ago, that having one's camera with one at all times and using it every day, as the route to happiness. I wasn't unhappy but she wasn't wrong.

I had a Canon Ixus point and shoot and from then on I was never without it. I used it so much that I wore away the logos on the controls. It opened my eyes to the world and I have learnt such a lot from researching the things I have captured. I discovered how to use the macro facility and was hooked.

I resisted at first, as I am not a technical person but two years ago I bought a DSLR and a 100mm macro lens. I found it much more difficult to get decent pictures with at first, especially as I was using the rocking back and forth technique. It was a year before I discovered AI servo. :rolleyes: I bought a 100 to 400 lens six months ago and that has added a new dimension to my photography and got me out and about, particularly to nature reserves. I've met lots of interesting people too. I love it.

I had been posting a pic a day on Twitter for a few far flung friends to see but I mainly take pics to please and amuse myself. Nothing has changed other than that I get to see some of the lovely images on this site. :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.