Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The Millennium Bridge

Today we had a day of touring the city. I wanted to remind myself of things I had enjoyed since I was a child and to see some new things. I particularly wanted to see the millennium bridge with its long vista to St Paul's Cathedral. Somehow, other blippers had managed to find it empty of pedestrians! I got the best shot I could.

In texting The Daughters last night, they had encouraged us to go out and have a good time so we took a boat trip from Westminister to Greenwich and had lunch there before catching another boat back. I'm glad we did as I was fascinated by the change in the architecture since I last made this trip. I saw Canary Warf with Barclays where my cousin and her husband worked and HSBC where #2 Daughter has to work sometimes.

I like The Embankment with its dolphin embellished lamp posts and I just had to see the Shell Centre where shortly after it was built in 1962 my aunt took Mum and I to the viewing walkway at the top. I couldn't believe how many floors the lift went up (26). It was the tallest building in the UK at 107 metres and had spectacular views over the city. I have put it in Extras  Now the London Eye stand in front of it with a height of 135 metres!

At one point on the South Bank, we hurried to the pavement as three unmarked police cars sped noisily past us. We wondered what might be happening. We discovered later that there had been an arrest - someone driving without paying due care and attention in Whitehall!

I was exhausted when we got back to the caravan, 19K steps is a lot for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.